Paper Sculpture Sex Education

Going through a recent large book acquisition I came upon How Babies Are Made by Andrew C. Andry published by Time Life Books, 1968; on the exterior a rather dated and pastel birds ‘n bees primer. But opening it up, I found it was illustrated with quirky paper sculptures of chickens mounting each other, puppies coming down paper birth canals, and paper people sharing “personal and special” moments.

The sculptures–created by Blake Hampton for whom I can find only one other illustration credit (The Cookie Tree)–are well executed and charming and I love the idea of a professional illustrator spending days carefully cutting out delicate paper sperm and curling umbilical cords.

2 thoughts on “Paper Sculpture Sex Education

  1. Thanks for this great post.I see Hampton's paintings from time to time when I look through magazines from the '60s and '70s. At its best, the work has a convincingly naive quality, like Henri Rousseau or Paul Davis. I just posted a 1969 ad by Hampton at Flickr, promoting The Mike Douglas Show.

    Like

Leave a comment