Magic Ephemera

I finally listed the collection of stage magic books and ephemera that’s been collecting magic dust next to my desk for months. I kept waving the bone folder over the pile and chanting “librum catalogum!”, but no dice. I’m a muggle of a bookseller.

Thought I’d share some of the great graphics and hand lettering (click on images for larger versions):

First this 1922 ad for Houdini’s Magical Rope Ties & Escapes from Practical Patter for Practical Magicians by Oswald Rae (1922)

Next the cover to Stage Illusions, compiled and edited by Will Goldston, Magician Ltd., c 1920. Signed by (it looks like) “F. Velhsco”


The cover to Magical Mentalia by G. E. Arrowsmith, Max Andrews, London, 1942. Cover design by Max Andrews (wish I could make the silver highlights pop a bit more in the scan).


And this label affixed in the back of Magic Mentalia from the “L. Davenport & Co.” (London) Magical Supply company which offers free issues of the periodical “The Demon Telegraph”.


Next this emblem/seal from Brooklyn-born magician/writer/publisher, Joseph Ovette (1885-1946) from the reverse of the chapbook Arthur LeRoy’s Futuristic Fantasies , 1931.

Lastly this great embossed devil-themed book ticket from the “Demon Series: Tricks, Jokes, Puzzles, London”


If interested you can see all the items from this collection in my “Games, Hobbies, Crafts, and Collectibles” Catalog (which I must admit is getting a bit broad) or email me for a list.

Leave a comment