Stoop Sale Report


My haul from the last two weeks of stoop-saling (click on the image to view in Flickr w/ thrift-o-vision annotations). These are part of the “Junk in Your Trunk” pool devoted to documenting yard sale and thrift hauls.

Not one but TWO Bang & O turntables, a great selection of LPs and DVDs, a book on cock-fighting, Aleister Crowley’s Thoth tarot and more.

Not too shabby considering I’ve been coughing my lungs out for two weeks straight from some disgusting lung affliction.

Favorite sale moments: The guy selling the first B+O table said he was clearing stuff out due to anxiety induced by cable hoarding shows (I heart A+E). We discussed the finer points of collect-o-mania and I gave him my informed opinion that you are only a hoarder when you stop inviting people into your home and “stuff” starts to displace your sleeping/eating/showering space. Until then you’re a connoisseur.

Other favorite moment was trying out a compound bow outfit and talking jazz at a sale held by a chatty ex-cop, private investigator.

Very excited that the season has begun.

2 thoughts on “Stoop Sale Report

  1. Wow, I totally empathize with this guy – I haven't been able to put my heart into bookbuying ever since I saw the doc “Seven Dumpsters and a Corpse” (probably don't look it up). It's a bummer, this is definitely the best buying season around here.

    Like

Leave a comment